In around 1989/90, the late Fred Barnes got together a group of enthusiasts and formed the Horowhenua Dressage Group. Informal dressage competitions were held at the Ohau Pony Club grounds usually on a Wednesday night.


In 1991, Margaret Harris called a meeting at Ferndale and it was agreed to officially form a Horowhenua Dressage Group as a sub group of Wellington Dressage. Some of the first members who are still actively involved are Kaye Emeny, Carol Bloomfield, and Cathy Devenport.


The first President of the Group was Margaret Harris (now a life member); and the first Treasurer was Karen Trotter.  Other Life members include Kaye Emeny, Sarah Inglis and Carol Bloomfield.


In the early days four tournaments a year were held, usually at Levin Showgrounds although a couple of the first ones were held at Otaki Racecourse and a winter series of five ribbon days held at Waikanae Park. 


Now there are two tournaments a year, both held at Levin showgrounds.  We also hold a series of Practise days for various Levels at  Waikanae Park on the sand arena during the Winter Months.  These are proving very popular with large numbers of entries necessitating having 2 divisions in Level 1.  

The group has an annual prizegiving of trophies, sponsors selected riders for training camps run by Dressage NZ, or travelling overseas to qualify for various events and holds training days for members.

Cher McCartney  is  President, Paula Brown is Secretary, Dawn Runtle is Event secretary and Treasurer.